Reflections on a Trip

London
Paris
York
Edinburgh
Glasgow

 

It is not often that one gets the chance to travel, for an extended period of time, with one’s loved ones. Yes, I do hold my parents dear to heart – they are more than just family to me, whatever implications of obligation that word may entail to some.

Beautiful as the places we visited were, it was more important to me (though I’ll admit that this was not always the primary thought on my mind as I was travelling) that we would enjoy our time together – enjoy the food, the sights, the experiences, and the company together.

But travelling is also a stressful experience. There’s so much to keep a hand on, to be concerned about, to be mindful of. I forget that my parents are no longer young, they are in their 50s, and their stamina is no longer what it used to be. I forget that they are no longer the adventurous 20 year-old individuals that once moved themselves across land and seas to work in a foreign land, where they met, that time and expectations had mellowed them. Perhaps I am at the stage where they once were in their youth. And it was this ignorance that left me impatient at times, and irritable at others. Forgive me.

Yet in the years to come, the struggles during this trip will surely fade away, what will remain are the rosy memories (undoubtedly tinted) of beautiful sights enjoyed together, and the company, enjoyed together. Thank you for these moments.

I am truly blessed.

Leave a comment