Loch Lomond

O ye’ll tak’ the high road, and I’ll tak’ the low road,
And I’ll be in Scotland afore ye,
But me and my true love will never meet again,
On the bonnie, bonnie banks o’ Loch Lomond

Castle Stirling
Loch Lomond

My folks and I took a daytrip out of Edinburgh to see a wee bit of the Scottish countryside with Rabbies, and it was honestly one of the best guided tour experiences that I’ve had in quite a long time, certainly on the same level as that of the guide in Versailles, and definitely way above any of those of tour groups from Singapore.

Edinburgh Castle would be the highlight for most visitors to the 2 major cities of Scotland, but really I think it should be Castle Stirling. Sure, it’s not nearly as accessible, but its sure a looker to behold, both within and of the countryside that surrounds it. The re-built historic rooms are certainly beautiful, though I’m not quite sure how I feel about the almost Disney-esque inclusion of 16th-century costumed actors. I suppose it brings the castle’s history to life…

29768769062_78a1081cfb_k

The pièce de résistance of the tour however was simply the views from Loch Lomond. It is truly a beautiful place, and it is only upon repeated visits that one fully grasps how vast the body of water actually is. I honestly don’t know which bit we stopped at, but it was quaint regardless, and a perfect place to begin a short hike around the lake. I suppose it’s easier to let the pictures do justice to the place.

29255235024_dd701e5b51_b

29255237124_245d3ba228_b

29255245754_fb2c224652_b

29255776793_cca36fff58_b

Oh how you both have aged, I must treasure the time that I have with you.

Leave a comment