Edinburgh ’16

Arthur’s Seat
Royal Mile
Edinburgh Castle

 

 

I can’t think of a better way to experience Edinburgh than by going up Arthur’s Seat. Granted, we didn’t go to the summit, but that’s fine, the view from midways was also divine. Or perhaps that was due to the almost rare bout of sunshine we had that particular evening, I don’t know.

En-route (up and down) was a truly odd piece of architecture – the Scottish Parliament – it’s particularly hard to describe, other than being excessively detailed on the facade, but I think I like it’s bravado. It definitely says something about the Scottish spirit, especially in this particular political climate. I’m sure it’s as relevant now as it was when the Scots first got their devolved government.

 

29588690520_1e817860b2_k

 

It’s interesting I suppose that we begin each day of Edinburgh seeing this particular staircase – it’s quite the archetype of the Scottish tenement typology of housing (without lifts!) It certainly was a shock when we got there from the train station, not realising that lifting luggage up 4 floors would be such a pain. But it was a pleasantly comfortable abode regardless.

Being lazy tourists that we were (or rather, exhausted ones at that), we opted for one of those open top bus tours to bring us around the city. Oh, Princes Street Gardens is simply a gem, every city should have a generous green space in the middle of its city centre. I suppose that’s what Central Park feels like, though I wouldn’t know.

 

 

And certainly as tourists, Edinburgh Castle was simply unmissable, though its a shame that it should feel like merely a check off the bucket list. I suppose I’m not one to fully appreciate castles, or the complexity of what they are (and certainly more so when they become so touristy). That being said, the Scottish War Memorial on it’s grounds was quite a moving space to encounter, because of how somber it is as an atmosphere, though more significantly because it reminded me of how many have had to die in the name of the inane wars that humanity chooses to wage against their brethren.

 

 

May we learn to live in peace.

 

Leave a comment