The first, and last snowfall

Reflections on a semester in Glasgow, I

I had initially wrote the following sometime in mid-November, while I was still in Glasgow on my exchange programme; I remain amazed at how quickly that episode of my life has passed by, how ephemeral it was, not unlike my one-and-only encounter with snow during this particular trip to Europe.

Much has happened since I last penned this, and somehow, I feel that it is only apt that I reexamine my reflections, and complete them a little more, even as I am still struggling to finish processing the far-too-many photographs that I took over the course of those 4 months abroad.

 


 

 

I am, faintly, cast against the delicate flakes dancing on a black backdrop,
Their swansong, on the black, now-mirror asphalt.

 

Perhaps now might be a good time to be a little introspective and reflective about my time in Glasgow, given that 61 days have since passed. I’m nearly halfway into my exchange programme here, and ever closer to returning home.

It’s strange to be away from home for such an extended period of time; the comforts and familiarity of home are certainly missed, and longed for – the important ones such as my loved ones, to the small things like a quick nespresso in the morning.

Yet just as there is a routine at home, a new one establishes itself here – Mondays are studio days, Tuesdays and Fridays are free (the former has become laundry day), and the in-betweens are, in-between days.

Between these new routines, are new experiences. Experiencing the Scottish accent and manner of speaking, on a daily basis, is almost surreal. It’s English, and yet its not. And it certainly isn’t English. I suppose that’s what it’s like to experience Singlish as a foreigner. But bit by bit it’s becoming a little more familiar.

I am thankful that there is so much more free time here, I am thankful that I am able to feel rested each day, not necessarily care free, but far less stressed. I am thankful for the weekend excursions, trips, holidays that I am able to have, and for the others that are to come. I am thankful for my Scottish flatmates, who have been oh so friendly, even if we do not always have much common topics to chat on (and accents to get past).

 


 

Now that I am actually back to Singapore, and in the first week of school back at NUS, it seems even more pertinent that I pen down as much of my thoughts on the semester-long exchange programme, lest it one day fades into obscurity, that it remains more than a hazy memory in the future.

In retrospect, my time abroad has not been as carefree as I had initially thought of it as, due to various personal mistakes, as well as the inexorable hands of fate. There were many losses, some material, others more personal, but each one acutely felt, and distressing. Perhaps it was necessary however – a reminder that life cannot simply be put on hold for hedonistic pleasures, that earthly existence is defined by temporality.

My last day in Glasgow was one of haste, with little sense of closure. There was no one left in the flat but myself (the others had all left for home for the Christmas holidays), and there wasn’t anyone to say goodbye to. It was all particularly odd. I simply had a quick breakfast in the city-centre, had one last stroll through Buchanan Street, and not long after, made my way to the airport.

I do think that I miss my time at Glasgow,
I don’t think I’m especially ready for the present semester…

Leave a comment